The forum

Disk location

Author Replies
TosunPASA Monday 29 January 2018 at 8:35
TosunPASAAnonymous

hello there

i am new guy on linux

and i like ur program... but have some problems

i have a lot of windows program. and i must continue use it... may be i must install virtual pc under linux but that is smilar problem..

i am installing my linux to 120GB ssd disk.. and swap and other programs increasing.. and decrase disk empty area.. this is problem for ssd disk..

i have second disk 4TB and classic sata 5400rpm.. ntfs file system... because still continue win8.1.. dont change this problem for play on linux.

i wanna change virtual program location.. mean... my play on linux files and program can be storaged on other disk and partitions

i check menus but dont see... could you think or insert this ?

my sda1 is 120gb ssd disk.. and sda2 is 4TB sata disk... i wanna storage my wirtual files on other disk not on system disk

 

could be ?

thx

Tutul Monday 29 January 2018 at 16:28
Tutul
Moderator

The easier way is to have you /home on a different disk. I suppose you install all your Linux using quick installation settings and all are on you system disk ?


Gentils modérateur dans mes bon jours - Attention, à tenir hors de portée des enfants. En cas de contact, veuillez immédiatement rincer à l'eau clair. Peut provoquer des sueurs froide !
TosunPASA Wednesday 7 February 2018 at 12:03
TosunPASAAnonymous

unf yes...

because i am using ssd + sata disk.. and install time only using ssd

after than complate i am install other disk to case. for safe my files

could you insert new settings ?

 

Tutul Wednesday 7 February 2018 at 12:16
Tutul
Moderator

 

You can create a partition on your second disk and copy all content of /home into that new partition.

After that, you can edit (as root) /etc/fstab and add a line like:

/dev/sda3              /home         ext4      defaults,noatime      0      2

/dev/disk[partition]               mount_point        format         options                             dump    fsck
You can found informations about that on linux support like https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/fstab

After that, you will need to rebout in a live USB or in 1/single mode. That mode avoid /home to be mounted, so you can delete the content into the /home directory and after that just reboot or do "init 5". Your new partition should mount on /home and if you copy all correctly, your session his ready on a new disk ;)

Read documentations about that because you can damage you system and need repair (on linux it's easyer to repair than windows and required less reinstallation).


Gentils modérateur dans mes bon jours - Attention, à tenir hors de portée des enfants. En cas de contact, veuillez immédiatement rincer à l'eau clair. Peut provoquer des sueurs froide !
TosunPASA Thursday 15 February 2018 at 7:24
TosunPASAAnonymous

i am understand u

but... i dont need extend disk or move my home directory

i have second disk and i wanna storage my all virtual files on second disk

example... i am using very offcen vmware... and my all virtual systems on other disk.. no damge... no fix

i can change OS and.. thats all on other disk no damage .. and i am using disk I/O performance with much disk

SSD disk is nice io performance but not cheap

i am installing OS  small SSD disk.. and using others sata disk

your think or ur method not good for disk performance

OS must be on small capacity but with high I/O disk performance.. others not matters

sometimes i am suing 4 disks.. different types.

ssd, 7200rpm sata, 5400rpm and 15k sata for different works

 

your using smilar virtualiation.. and can be storage everywhere... only need settings for storage area

i can storage my games on second disk.. and can storage my windows programs on 3th disk... why ? for disk performance and different work.

i like AOE series.. and have different episodes... i need +50gb for AEO...

and i have two monitors... first monitor watch my server stuations... watching them... second monitor for game and movies... mean...

did i explain ?

thx for this good program

 

Tutul Thursday 15 February 2018 at 16:10
Tutul
Moderator

Yea but wine cannot run elsewhere than in your $HOME directory as far as I know. So you move your $HOME directory or you keep using wine on that disk.


Gentils modérateur dans mes bon jours - Attention, à tenir hors de portée des enfants. En cas de contact, veuillez immédiatement rincer à l'eau clair. Peut provoquer des sueurs froide !
mathewbet1 Saturday 29 June 2019 at 10:59
mathewbet1Anonymous

Computer Spec is 1.8 Ghz Inte Core i7, 4GB MHz DDR3, HD Graphix 3000 384 MB

 

I installed both metatrader 4 and 5 on two seperate virtual drives i noticed the error message here in the Metatrader 5 verion

06/28/19 23:29:08 - [CleanLnkDesktop] Message: Clean user's Windows desktop: C:\\users\\mathewsteward\\Desktop => /Users/mathewsteward/Library/PlayOnMac//wineprefix/metatrader4/dosdevices/c:/users/mat06/28/19 23:29:08 - [POL_SetupWindow_AutoApp] Message: Making .app MetaTrader 4 (MetaTrader_4_)

06/28/19 23:29:09 - [POL_Shortcut] Message: Shortcut created: terminal.exe MetaTrader 4

06/28/19 23:29:09 - [POL_SetupWindow_Close] Message: Closing window for pid 2416

Dadu042 Saturday 29 June 2019 at 23:59
Dadu042
Moderator

mathewbet1, wrong forum thread (use those of the related scripts). Note: I updated these scripts.

Edited by Dadu042

You are here: Index > PlayOnLinux > Disk location